Mohammad Hafeez excluded for South Africa T20Is after bio-bubble deadlock with PCB

Mohammad Hafeez excluded for South Africa T20Is after bio-bubble deadlock with PCB


Four uncapped players – Zafar Gohar, Danish Aziz, Zahid Mahmood and Amad Butt – in 20-man squad

A disagreement between the PCB and Pakistan’s leading T20 runscorer in 2020 has seen Mohammad Hafeez excluded from the 20-man squad for the 3-match T20I series announced by chief selector Mohammad Wasim at the Gaddafi Stadium on Sunday. Hafeez, in the prime form of his T20 career, developed a deadlock over the date at which he would enter the bio-secure bubble with the rest of the Pakistans quad. Presently playing the T10 league in Abu Dhabi, he requested permission to join the squad on on February 5, something the PCB was unwilling to agree to, with the impasse putting paid to his chance of being involved in the series.

“Unfortunately, the scenario is as such that every player has to join the bio-bubble on Feb 3, and if a player can’t do so, it means he is unavailable,” chief selector Mohammad Wasim said. “If he was available, there’s no question on his performance, but unfortunately he is not available.”

Pakistan have also dropped Fakhar Zaman and Wahab Riaz for the series, with Shadab Khan injured and Imad Wasim unavailable for personal reasons.

Hasan Ali, Asif Ali and Aamer Yamin recalled have all been recalled to the side, with four uncapped players – Zafar Gohar, Danish Aziz, Zahid Mehmood and Amad Butt – named in the squad. Abdullah Shafique, who made his T20I debut in New Zealand, was also dropped, with Wasim saying he believed Shafique was more suitable for the longer versions of the game. Wahab Riaz, meanwhile, ahs paid the price for what Wasim termed was a “lack of consistency” in his game, with the selectors of the view they wanted more reliability from a player of his experience.

Pakistan will look to arrest an alarming slide in T20 cricket that began with a series against South Africa two years ago. In February 2019, Pakistan played a three-match series against this opposition ranked number one in the world, having won a world record 11 successive T20I series. A 2-1 reverse to the South Africans broke that streak, and ever since, Pakistan have lost six of the eight series they have played in the format, with the only two wins coming against Bangladesh and Zimbabwe at home.

The squad, along with the officials, will enter the bio-secure bubble from Wednesday, February 3, and the players taking part in the Test series will join the bubble at the end of the second Test that starts in Rawalpindi on Thursday, 4 February.

The T20Is will be played at the Gaddafi Stadium on February 11, 13 and 14.

Pakistan squad: Babar Azam, Haider Ali, Khushdil Shah, Hussain Talat, Danish Aziz, Asif Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Zafar Gohar, Faheem Ashraf, Aamer Yamin, Amad Butt, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Hasan Ali, Usman Qadir, Zahid Mehmood

Umar Farooq is ESPNcricinfo’s Pakistan correspondent

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.